Lizzy's Tasties

A blog about food, life and all shades between

Sweet Cherry Pie

on August 26, 2013

  

whole pie

This past weekend I wanted to bake something sweet. I had originally planned on baking some fudge-y brownies but I guess God had other plans for me this weekend. My mother sent me on some errands (a nice bit of “me” time while she watched my little guy), and one of the stops was Sam’s Club. I love going to Sam’s club, because they give away free samples. When I was a kid my parents would go on Saturday morning to stock up on groceries and odds and ends and I would wander around the store collecting the free samples, a scavenger hunt for tasty morsels. Then I’d run and tell mom or dad get this or that. Even as an adult I still love samples, especially fruit, meat, and veggies.

Fast forward to this weekend, running my errands, I was getting some unsalted butter for some upcoming baking projects and I saw sweet cherries on sale. With trepidation, I snagged one of the cherries for a taste test. I hate it when so-called sweet fruits end up being anything but. To my surprise, they were sweet and the first thing that springs into mind is that song “Sweet Cherry Pie” by Warrant. I grabbed a box of cherries and was singing that tune, earbug that it is, all the way home.

slice cherry pie

Once back at my parent’s place, I realize that I’ve never baked a pie from-scratch with homemade crust. Busting out the Google, I researched flaky pie crust. Some recipes called for lard or vodka and I didn’t want to add any of that so I just created my own dough with some simple ingredients: ice, water, flour, butter, and sugar, all pulsed in the food processor. I separated the dough into halves and placed in the fridge for 45 minutes. The recipe calls for pitted cherries. Let me tell you: this pie was a labor of love. I pitted every cherry by hand and tried my best to keep them pretty (I don’t have a fancy-schmancy cherry pitter). By the time this little labor of love of mine finished baking and cooling, I had successfully made a beautiful cherry pie! My dad came into the kitchen and grabbed a huge slice with ice cream, and my step-mom, who doesn’t even like cherry pie, proclaimed her love for the filling I’d whipped up.

I hope you guys enjoy this recipe!!!

Ingredients

4 Cups of pitted cherries

2 Tablespoon of corn starch

2 Teaspoon of tapioca

1/3 cup sugar

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/8 teaspoon salt

¼ Teaspoon almond extract

¼ Teaspoon lemon extract

½ Teaspoon vanilla extract

1 Tablespoon unsalted butter (cut them in to little squares)

1 of your favorite buttery flaky crust recipes

1. Pre-heat oven to 400F. Start pitting your cherries. As I said earlier this is a labor of love. Once all the cherries are pitted, combine them in a large bowl with the sugar, brown sugar, salt, corn starch, tapioca, vanilla, almond, and lemon extracts.

2. Next roll out your dough and place in pie pan and pour your cherry mixture in. Take the cut slices of butter and spread across the top. Roll out the second piece of dough and layer it on the top of the cherry mixture. Take egg wash dab it across the top and sprinkle sugar on top. Cut a slit in the middle of pie.

3. Place pie in the oven bake for 25 minutes. Then turn heat down to 350F and bake for another 25-30 minutes. Take pie out and let it cool. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Miss Chris Creations

Eating Should Be Fun!

A-Shattered-World

Shattering your world, one word at a time.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

cook bake and eat

Cooking, baking and eating ramblings

ijustatethatblog

Photo-documenting my way through culinary bliss.

Food Reviews By Koa

Honest restaurant reviews by a genuine island guy

Something Sweet Something Savoury

Family friendly recipes from a chaotic kitchen

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

See Fancy Love

Inspirational Lifestyle Blog

Sweet Cats!

A Modern Southern Belle: Dressing, Eating, and Living Well

WordAds

High quality ads for WordPress

The Candid Appetite

Where Cooking Meets Photography

