Lizzy's Tasties

A blog about food, life and all shades between

Hondeaux Southern Kitchen-Restaurant Review!

on November 5, 2013

Hondeaus%20Logo%20-%20small

So I have lived in this moderately small town on and off for ten years now. I have seen companies’ restaurants and bakeries come and go. I am a food buff; I love good food and I will go the extra mile to find it.  Temple has always been small town you go to the local places where they know you by name and know exactly what you’ll order and have it ready in 15 minutes or less.

My colleagues/lunch buddy always look to me to find something different to eat in Temple. I normally search through Google, and yelp to find out what’s around here. I have to admit we have been to some whole in the wall places. We have had our up and our downs and even worse stomachaches.

A week ago I had a young professionals happy hour get together at local bar The Green Door and one of my colleagues had mention they had lunch at Hondeaux. He said it was a great place and we should have lunch or a few drinks there soon. Well I couldn’t wait for the next soirée to find out when we were all going to have lunch I wanted to try this place as soon as possible.  

I told my lunch buddy that we had to check Hondeaux I even sent her the link http://hondeauxtemple.com/ so she could check out the menu. At 12 we hopped in the car and drove to downtown Temple. The site mentions that they pride themselves on 15 minute lunch ticket times, which are great because we only have an hour for lunch. We got there and they told us to have a seat wherever we liked. The place had a nice ambiance upscale but relaxed. It looked as if I had just walked into country bar with finesse. We chit chatted but we waited 5-10 minutes and no one waited on us. I finally waived a waitress down because we were seeing other people that were there after us being waited on. The waitress apologized and took our order.  I order their Tacos de Pescado and sweet tea my lunch buddy orders the same. A few minutes later the General Manager came up to us and apologized for the late service and advised us they would expedite our order and free dessert on him. I was very impressed and honestly did not expect that.

 Our food came out minutes later. My tacos had blackened tilapia with a green chile salsa. I could taste sweetness of the salsa and the spice from tilapia. None of the flavors over powered the other which is a plus. I order a side of fries. I am a northern girl by heart so these fries brought back memories of home. The fries had a hint of vinegar; which down here is unheard of but me and my family love malt vinegar and ketchup on our fries. We had the choice of pecan pie or cheesecake; I am allergic to pecan pie so I decided on the cheesecake. My co-worker stated that the pecan pie was delicious and will finish it when she gets home. The cheesecake was ok it lacked the flavor and presentation. Not to mention when I took my first bite there was a piece of wax paper still on the cheesecake. I had to remove it. This is a no no and indicated that they rushed this on a plate and also tasted store bought. Overall the main dish was good and the General Manager did take a stand to the service that we received initially and the server who was originally supposed to serve us also apologized. I may come back after work hours to see if I have a better experience.

Leave a Reply

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

Miss Chris Creations

Eating Should Be Fun!

A-Shattered-World

Shattering your world, one word at a time.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

cook bake and eat

Cooking, baking and eating ramblings

ijustatethatblog

Photo-documenting my way through culinary bliss.

Food Reviews By Koa

Honest restaurant reviews by a genuine island guy

Something Sweet Something Savoury

Family friendly recipes from a chaotic kitchen

ice cream magazine

................... for lovers of ice cream. Your free on line magazine for sweet frozen treats. Recipes, inspiration, artisanal ideas for your delectation.

See Fancy Love

Inspirational Lifestyle Blog

Sweet Cats!

A Modern Southern Belle: Dressing, Eating, and Living Well

WordAds

High quality ads for WordPress

The Candid Appetite

Where Cooking Meets Photography

